From the age of 5, children are required by law, to follow the National Curriculum - the programmes of study in every subject are laid down by the Department for Education.  

What we do:


The English curriculum consists of the following different elements:

  • Spoken language

  • Reading

  • Writing

  • Vocabulary, grammar and punctuation

  • Spelling

  • Handwriting



At St. Margaret's our Reading Scheme is the Oxford Reading Tree.



Phonics is taught from nursery to Year 2. At St. Margaret's we teach phonics using the Read, Write, Inc. scheme. For more information about Read, Write, Inc. you can download our overview HERE.


The maths curriculum consists of the following different elements:

  • Number and place value

  • Number: Addition and subtraction

  • Number: Multiplication and division

  • Fractions

  • Measures

  • Geometry

  • Statistics 


The aim is to ensure all children:

  • become fluent in the fundamentals of mathematics

  • are able to reason mathematically

  • are able to solve problems by applying their knowledge


At St. Margaret's we aim to provide all of our children with a broad and balanced curriculum experience, preparing for life in Modern Britain.  


We have adopted the 'Learning Challenge' curriculum.  Each topic has a big question which is broken down into smaller learning challenges.  The main question are driven by History, Geography or Science and these are enhanced by art and design technology.


Some subjects are taught separate from the topic, these are Religious Education, Physical education, Personal and Social Health Education, Music, French and Computing.


Please click on the links below to find a curriculum overview for each year group:

Year 1

Year 2

Year 3

Year 4

Year 5

Year 6